My Boss

So my boss likes to micromanage me. Everyone hates this. Whenever I write a report, it goes through at least two or three drafts. I’ll write the first draft, and then she’ll edit it and give me notes, and then I’ll send her the second draft. I feel like at this point, this is the logical place to stop editing and drafting. However, after I send her the second draft, she gives it back to me with even more notes. So annoying. And it’s her own fault, like if she has more comments, why didn’t she notice them the first time? The worst is when I change something because of the notes she gave me, and then she says to delete it or it doesn’t make sense, without even knowing that it was her who made me put that in. So frustrating.

The other thing is that she never thinks something is finished until I run it by other people in the company. Well she’s my boss, so shouldn’t she be confident enough to say when a report or some calculations are finished? She’s high enough at the company that we shouldn’t need others’ approval to call something “done”. She obviously doesn’t understand what this means to me, because I’m trying hard to please her but she doesn’t know what it is to please her, it has to come from someone else. It makes it pretty hard on me…

Leave a comment